About us


           The “Central Government Health Scheme” (CGHS) for the Central Govt. employees and their dependents was started in New Delhi in 1954. Subsequently, the scheme was extended to pensioners, freedom fighters and other specific groups of people. The scheme was introduced in Chennai in the year 1975, with 4 dispensaries to begin with.


           CGHS Chennai-Administrative office is located at Rajaji bhavan, Besant nagar, Chennai. With the Additional Director as head of the Institution.   


       CGHS wellness centers are the backbone of the Scheme and provide health services to the beneficiaries. At present there are 14 wellness centres at CGHS Chennai covering the entire metropolitan city including suburban areas like Avadi.


            Computerization of  CGHS Chennai was done in 2009


          To keep pace with the modern times, a massive computerisation work was taken up under CGHS in collaboration with the National Informatics Centre. Computerization of the CGHS has resulted in the following benefits; lesser waiting period for beneficiaries at the dispensaries; on-line placement of indents on local chemists; availability of patient profiles; availability of medicines / drugs usage pattern, which will enable the CGHS to prepare a realistic list of formulary drugs; reduction in use of paper; removal of jurisdictional restriction (as regards the dispensary) for the beneficiaries, etc.

Details of beneficiary cards in CGHS Chennai


Type of card

No of cards.

No of beneficiaries.

Pensioner card.


Serving cards.


Freedom fighter cards






                                                                                     *as on 01-11-2011     

 CGHS wellness centers in Chennai functions with the following:

              1. General Duty Medical officers-

           2. Specialists-

           3.Ayush Medical officers- (Ayurveda, Homoeopathy, and Siddha)   

           4. Pharmacists, Nursing and Paramedical staff.  

 The wellness centers are located in the following places.

           1.  Adyar

           2.  Anna nagar

           3.  Avadi

           4.  Gopalapuram

           5.  Guindy

           6.  K K nagar

           7.  Meenambakkam

           8.  Nandambakkam

           9.  Nungambakkam

          10. Perumbur

          11. R.A Puram

          12. Royapuram

          13  Triplicane

          14. Vepery